modified_SFN website banner.jpg

Register for Neuroscience day 2019!!!

The Louisville Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience, established in 1990, is comprised of over 300 neuroscientists from the University of Louisville and other regional universities, colleges, research centers and institutes. The goal of the chapter is to promote research and understanding of normal functions and diseases of the nervous system.

How to join: Membership is free, and is open to anyone who is interested in neuroscience (all education levels are welcome). If you would like to become a member, please contact us with "Membership" in the subject line, and send your name, position/title, affiliation, physical address, and email address to our chapter (link to our email address is one of the buttons at the bottom of the page). Note that registering for the annual Neuroscience Day will automatically add you to our membership roster. Also note that registration with this local chapter does not grant you full membership to the national Society for Neuroscience (SfN link). 

How to donate: Our science outreach programs and annual Neuroscience Day are volunteer-driven, and entirely supported by generous contributions from University of Louisville departments & centers, vendors, and the local community. If you would like to donate to our efforts, please contact us with "Donation" in the subject line (link to our email address is one of the buttons at the bottom of the page). We are a registered non-profit organization, and contributions are tax-deductible.

How to follow us on social media: Our chapter has accounts with Facebook (@sfnlouisville), Twitter (@sfnlouisville), Instagram (sfnlouisville), and Flickr. Feel free to follow us!

 Chapter bylaws (link)

Louisville Chapter Officers 2017-2018
President                    Alex Ovechkin, M.D. / PhD.
Treasurer                    Brendan Depue, PhD.
Secretary                    Bart Borghuis, PhD.
President-Elect           Enrico Rejc, Ph.D.
Past President            Jeffrey Petruska, PhD.
Outreach Liaisons      Victor DePiero and Luis Alvarado

Past Presidents of the Louisville Chapter:
1990-1991 - Fred Roisen                            1999-2000 - Dante Morassutti                             2009-2010 - Irene Litvan
1991-1992 - Peter Rowell                           2000-2001 - George Mower                                2010-2011 - Robin Krimm
1992-1993 - Ken Leskawa                         2001-2002 - Michael Gruenthal                           2011-2012 - Rif El-Mallakh
1993-1994 - Avital Schurr                          2002-2003 - Scott Whittemore                            2012-2013 - Theo Hagg
1994-1995 - Madhu Gupta                        2003-2005 - Charles Hubscher                           2013-2014 - Ron Gregg
1995-1996 - Laurence Carr                       2005-2006 - Xiao-Ming Xu                                  2014-2015 - Dena Howland
1996-1997 - Nigel Cooper                         2006-2007 - Martha Bickford                              2015-2016 - Cynthia Corbitt
1997-1998 - Rif El-Mallakh                         2007-2008 - Manuel Casanova                          2016-2017 - Kristofer Rau
1998-1999 - Heywood Petry                     2008-2009 - David Magnuson                            2017-2018 - Jeffrey Petruska

Affiliated Departments and Centers:
UofL Kentucky Spinal Cord Injury Research Center
UofL Department of Anatomical Sciences & Neurobiology
UofL Department of Neurological Surgery
UofL Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
UofL Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics
UofL Department of Neurology
UofL Department of Physiology
UofL Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology
UofL College of Arts & Sciences Department of Biology
UofL College of Arts & Sciences Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
UofL Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
UofL Speed School Department of Bioengineering
Kentucky Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network
Bellarmine University Physical Therapy
Morehead State Department of Psychology
Northern Kentucky University Department of Biological Sciences
Northern Kentucky University Department of Psychological Science